I did it my way (insight from Jodie’s speech)


AP Photo of Jodie Foster during her 2013 Golden Globe acceptance speech

I was at work (at a newspaper) while Jodie gracefully received her lifetime-achievement award, Sunday night at the Golden Globes. There was a simultaneous transmission, people were talking, I was tweeting. Suffice it to say I did not grasp completely the nuances of her words, but I felt moved by them.

When I arrived home, NBC was replaying the ceremony, and I got another chance to watch her speech. I was moved to tears by the end, during her message to her mom:

“Mom, I know you’re inside those blue eyes somewhere, and there’s so many things that you won’t understand tonight, but this is the only important one to take in: I love you, I love you, I love you. And I hope that if I say this three times it will magically and perfectly enter into your soul and fill you with grace and the joy of knowing that you did good in this life, you’re a great mom. Please take that with you when you’re finally okay to go”.

Now for all that has been said and written about her retirement and sexuality in her speech, I have a feeling most missed this gem of a moment, where her voice breaks. I felt like it was me talking to mom, but I guess I’m not that brave yet (as opposed to Jodie, who played quite the brave woman in The Brave One).

For another interpretation of her speech, I recommend Jim Emerson’s post about it.