Memorable quotes from Up in the Air


Up in the Air movie screenshot

I will let you in on a little secret about me… I am incapable of watching the wedding sequence from Up in the Air, without crying. I blame the song Help Yourself  by Sad Brad Smith. I have my reasons, but anyway: I find this movie is relevant in so many aspects of my life. If you haven`t seen it, please rent or buy it. If you already have, I trust that you`ll appreciate the following memorable quotes (especially you, Duffgirl).

“Anybody who ever built an empire, or changed the world, sat where you are now. And it’s *because* they sat there that they were able to do it.” Ryan Bingham

Ryan Bingham: Your resume says you minored in French Culinary Arts. Most students work the frier at KFC. You busted tables at Il Picatorre to support yourself. Then you got out of college and started working here. How much did they pay you to give up on your dreams?
Bob: Twenty seven thousand a year.
Ryan Bingham: At what point were you going to stop and go back to what made you happy?

Alex Goran: He broke up with you over text message?
Ryan Bingham: That’s kind of like firing someone over the Internet.

Ryan Bingham: [voiceover, reading the letter] To whom it may concern: I can’t begin to count the number of people I’ve fired in my lifetime. So many that I’ve forgotten what it’s like to actually hire someone. We’ve never met, but I know you’d be lucky to have —– [name removed by me for those who haven`t seen it]. My advice? Take her and don’t look back. She’ll be the best decision you’ve made in a long time.

Ryan Bingham: If you think about it, your favorite memories, the most important moments in your life… were you alone?
Jim Miller: No, I guess not.
Ryan Bingham: Hey, come to think of it, last night, the night before your wedding, when all this shit is swirling around in your head, weren’t you guys sleeping in separate bedrooms?
Jim Miller: Yeah, Julie went back to the apartment, and I was just by myself in the honeymoon suite.
Ryan Bingham: Kind of lonely, huh?
Jim Miller: Yes, it was pretty lonely.
Ryan Bingham: Life’s better with company.
Jim Miller: Yeah.

Ryan Bingham: You know why kids love athletes?
Bob: Because they screw lingerie models.
Ryan Bingham: No, that’s why we love athletes. Kids love them because they follow their dreams.

2 Comments

  1. That quote at the top is quite original and thought-provoking.

    And I must admit I’ve wept at the endings of some films, most notably “Dances with Wolves”.

    1. Man, I say this with guilt: I have not seen Dances with Wolves yet. Must do it! About that first quote, at first it seems to be kind of a cop-out, but in the end you can tell there`s some truth to it.

Leave a comment