A few weeks ago  I shared with you some details about my trip to Sololá. Funny how memory works: I should have jotted some of the memories down, since some names are starting to fade away (the few ones that I got).

Two married couples were part of the passengers: the younger one, semi-newlyweds from Canada (who managed to book their trip to Guatemala, a belated honeymoon, in order to miss the coldest day of the year ;), a lovely couple in their early fifties, late forties who were visiting their son (dedicated to social investment… I think).

I sat next to Teresa, a Mexican anthropologist and social worker. A widow, she used to run a cultural center and library, her husband was a Guatemalan filmmaker. She has diabetes and was very excited when I told her that Lila Downs was scheduled to perform in Guatemala again.

To be continued…

 

 

Leave a Reply

