There’s always TV


When The Cable Guy was released in 1996, I could never imagine that Internet would actually replace cable as the most popular source of entertainment (unverified fact):

“The future is now! Soon every American home will integrate their television, phone and computer. You’ll be able to visit the Louvre on one channel, or watch female wrestling on another. You can do your shopping at home, or play Mortal Kombat with a friend from Vietnam. There’s no end to the possibilities!” (Chip Douglas)

HK TST Harbour City Chrismas Cable TV 11-2007

Creative Commons photo by OneHABA

2 Comments

  1. I’m old-fashioned about that. I don’t watch any TV or film over the Internet, only video clips I can’t see on TV. Why would anyone rather watch TV or film on a small screen at his/her desk, sitting on a hard chair?
    I’d rather have the recliner, and watch a large screen. It’s also like that with music–they’re phasing-out CDs, because people are listening to music over the Internet? Why? I’d much rather listen to music on my huge stereo system, sitting in my recliner (they don’t even sell new hi-fi speakers anymore, I have to get them from thrift stores). And I refuse to read any book on an e-reader. I want a want a real book in my hand, not something on a tiny screen that can malfunction. This society is putting everything on the Internet. Even libraries don’t have card-catalogs, anymore–only computers. Sooner or later, the Internet is going to crash. I don’t know what will cause it, but it will crash–because all technology eventually fails. And when that happens, this world is going to be in serious trouble because all that online information will no longer be accessible. Even a massive power failure could do this–computers rely on electricity, books do not. The banks will fail, and there will be a worldwide economic catastrophe that will make the Great Depression seem like a minor economic setback. By our over-dependence on computers and the Internet, we are setting ourselves up for the end of the world, as we know it.

    1. I think both mediums (TV and Internet) are now connected to each other (much like Chip Douglas foresaw it… well, maybe not exactly like that). My view regarding mankind`s relationship with technology is less gloomy, although I do share some of your concern.

Leave a comment