The title to this post is very misleading, for I am not on a day off from school (didn’t drop out from Communications, but never graduated) or work, but the rain is starting to tamper with my mood. Therefore, I’m in need of some fantastic quotes, from one one of my all time favorite movies, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off:

I am not going to sit on my ass as the events that affect me unfold to determine the course of my life. I’m going to take a stand. I’m going to defend it. Right or wrong, I’m going to defend it. (Cameron)

You wear too much eye makeup. My sister wears too much. People think she’s a whore. (Boy in Police Station, played by Charlie Sheen)

Cameron has never been in love – at least, nobody’s ever been in love with him. If things don’t change for him, he’s gonna marry the first girl he lays, and she’s gonna treat him like shit, because she will have given him what he has built up in his mind as the end-all, be-all of human existence. She won’t respect him, ’cause you can’t respect somebody who kisses your ass. It just doesn’t work. (Ferris)

 

2 thoughts on “A little wisdom from a day off

  1. I love that film too–especially when Ferris literally dashes through neighbors’ homes in order to get to his in time! Even at the end, after the credits (I’ve always been the kind of person who watches the credits in their entirety (you can learn alot from the credits), Ferris reappears, and says something like, “Why are you still here? Go, on–get on with your life!”

    My favorite line from the film comes from Jennifer Grey, who plays Ferris’ sister. She’s on the phone with someone, asking for information on Ferris’ whereabouts. She asks, “Do you know…”, “Do you know…”, and the girl on the other end of the line can’t answer any of her questions. Finally, in exasperation, Ferris’ sister says, “Do you know anything?”, and hangs up the phone!

    1. Hi Scott, thanks for the comment and Ferris scenes. Another great part of the end credits is watching the principal all bloody, brought to shame, being offered a bus ride. Oh, another milestone that his movie has for me: the first time I ever heard The Beatles’ “Twist and Shout” was during the parade scene!

Leave a Reply

