Delusion?


Remember a few months ago I told you I wanted to read Eating Animals, by Jonathan Safran Foer? Well, I did… and it changed my life. There’s so much I wish to write about it, but I’ll just start by quoting part of page 255, after a testimonial from a factory farm worker describing the brutal treatment inflicted upon pigs:

Just how common do such savageries have to be for a decent person to be unable to overlook them? If you knew that one in one thousand food animals suffered actions like those described above, would you continue to eat animals? One in one hundred? One in ten? Toward the end of The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Michael Pollan writes, “I have to say there is a part of me that envies the moral clarity of the vegetarian…Yet part of me pities him, too. Dreams of innocence are just that; they usually depend on a denial of reality that can be its own form of hubris.” He’s right that emotional responses can lead us to an arrogant disconnect. But is the person who makes an effort to act on the dream of innocence really the one to be pitied? And who, in this case, is denying reality?

To be continued…

P.S. Shortly after reading this book for the second time, I decided to become a vegan.

One thought on “Delusion?

Leave a Reply

